Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

The Significance Of Petty
Posted:Friday, 10/19/2012 at 04:10am by Greg Easterling
It's always good to feature Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers as we did yesterday on The Drive; they're true believers and have been keepers of the rock 'n' roll grail soon after they first appeared in the mid 1970's.

This time we spotlighted their mid-Eighties live album Pack Up The Plantation, recorded in concert at a number of locations including London, L.A. and Boston, mostly Los Angeles though. The songs are a nice blend of Petty band classics plus great covers of other people's songs-- we heard a number of the latter as we put the needle down on Side 4 this time including versions of The Animals' "Don't Bring Me Down" and also "Shout".
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 9, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
(3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
(1hrs)