Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

That's All-man...for now
Posted:Friday, 11/02/2012 at 04:11am by Greg Easterling
We finished up our week of late night vinyl this morning with the original Allman Brothers classic...their first, self titled album from 1969 featuring the original lineup and including the legendary Duane Allman as well as brother Gregg.

There was no such thing as "southern rock" at the time and the Allmans didn't usually wear cowboy hats, at least not in the beginning. This was heavy, improvisational blues rock played by young Southern musicians, most of whom hailed from Florida by way of Georgia. Their inspirations were legendary American blues icons as well as regional r&b performers plus British blues revivialists such as Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck, and the bands that nurtured them--The Yardbirds and Cream.

We listened to Side 2 this time with unforgettable classics, "Whipping Post" and "Dreams".

This is our last Overnight Album Side for at least a week as we roll through The Drive A-Z.
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Friday, Oct 31, 2014
9:00pm
Long One @ 9
Savoy Brown
10:00pm
Ten @ 10 Replay
Halloween
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End