Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

R.E.O.'s Debut
Posted:Saturday, 02/09/2013 at 09:02am by Greg Easterling
We wrapped up the week with the first album by R.E.O. Speedwagon. Released in 1971, the original lineup of the band differs greatly from the current REO lineup(not a huge surprise!) but at least four of the original musicians(Gratzer, Philbin, Doughty, and Richrath) logged many years and albums with the band. Singer Terry Luttrell made his only appearance with REO here before moving on to Starcastle eventually.

The early REO songs were harder and more political than the later, more mass appeal output from the band. Side 1 holds up surprisingly well after all this time with songs like "Gypsy Woman's Passion" and "Lay Me Down". The current REO lineup continues to play one song from this record in concert, it's the rockin' "157 Riverside Avenue", named for a street address in the town of Bridgeport, Connecticut where REO went to record this album. We heard the original studio version as we tracked Side 1 this time.
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Friday, Oct 31, 2014
9:00pm
Long One @ 9
Savoy Brown
10:00pm
Ten @ 10 Replay
Halloween
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End