Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

Sweet Allman's Music
Posted:Tuesday, 02/26/2013 at 03:02am by Greg Easterling
We did some serious listening on The Drive early this morning with the Allman Brothers Band from 1972 and their classic Eat A Peach album, released at a time when the Allmans were still coming to terms with the loss of their leader and guitar virtuoso Duane Allman.

Sides 2-4 contain Duane's final work with the band while Side 1 points the way towards the future with Gregg Allman and Dickey Betts shouldering responsibility for the survival of one of rock's most important bands. We listened to Side 1 this time which included "Ain't Wastin' Time No More", "Melissa" and a great nine minute jam penned by Betts, "Les Brers In A Minor".
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 9, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
(3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
(1hrs)