Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

Happy Birthday JT
Posted:Tuesday, 03/12/2013 at 04:03am by Greg Easterling
It's James Taylor's birthday and we featured a classic side from his 1970 release, Sweet Baby James this morning.

In many ways, it was THE record that launched the singer-songwriter as an important type of performer in the early 1970's...Joni Mitchell, Cat Stevens, Carole King, Jackson Browne and many others followed in Taylor's wake. Previously, songwriters mostly stayed in the background with their songs shopped to bands and artists by music biz middle men. Now, a songwriter could make a name as a performer singing his or her own songs.

Sweet Baby James is James Taylor's best loved album and today we put the needle down on Side 2 beginning with his early signature song(and big hit), "Fire And Rain".
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 9, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
(3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
(1hrs)