Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

Every Picture Tells A Story
Posted:Monday, 08/05/2013 at 03:08am by Greg Easterling
We started a new week of late night vinyl (and jump started this recently idle blog) with Rod Stewart and what is generally acknowledged as his finest effort, 1971's Every Picture Tells A Story. The original songs are steller(Maggie May, Mandolin Wind, title track) as well as the covers of tunes by Bob Dylan, Tim Hardin, Elvis and Motown.

Rod was doing double duty in this period as a member of The Faces so they played on his solo records as well as the Faces own albums. While there was some grumbling at times that Rod perhaps saved his best songs for his solo releases, in truth there was plenty of decent songs for both band and solo releases. Something in the air back in those days! An amazingly fruitful time for Rod Stewart. We tracked Side 2 this time.
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Friday, Oct 31, 2014
9:00pm
Long One @ 9
Savoy Brown
10:00pm
Ten @ 10 Replay
Halloween
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End