Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

Somewhere In England with George
Posted:Wednesday, 09/04/2013 at 04:09am by Greg Easterling
We hit the midpoint of our week this morning with a copy of an early Eighties George Harrison album that I picked up recently, Somewhere In England, released in 1981. As usual, nothing but the finest studio cats to back George up, many of them his friends like drummer Jim Keltner. Ringo is also here too. The album's best known song is the single, "All Those Years Ago", a tribute to John Lennon who had been gunned down the previous year. We heard it on Side 1 which also contains George's recording of the song, "Baltimore Oriole", a standard written by Hoagy Carmichael, once recorded by Chicago's Cryin' Shames.
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 9, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
(3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
(1hrs)