Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

Doobies Heard On the Drive
Posted:Thursday, 02/06/2014 at 04:02am by Greg Easterling
We are featuring the Doobie Brothers today on The Drive and this morning we went all the way back to the first album, a record that most people have never heard since it was not a hit...or even close to being one. Released in 1971, this first, self titled album has many of the elements already in place for the band's future success on the next two records, Toulouse Street and The Captain and Me. The longtime lead singers, guitarists and writers are here, Tom Johnston and Patrick Simmons. The Doobie's longtime producer Ted Templeman(Van Halen, Little Feat) is here as well as co-producer with veteran Warner Bros. exec Lenny Waronker. Furthermore, the first cut on Side 1 and the album's single was good enough to be a hit. It's called "Nobody", a song that the Doobies re-recorded more recently for their 2010 release, World Gone Crazy. We tracked Side 1 this AM for the first time here on The Drive.
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 9, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
(3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
(1hrs)