Greg Easterling's Blog

Weekdays Midnight - 5am

ORIGINAL POST

Lou Reed Again
Posted:Wednesday, 02/19/2014 at 04:02am by Greg Easterling
We hit the midpoint of our week this morning with Lou Reed, the rock icon we lost late last October. From 1974, it was Lou's Rock and Roll Animal live album, recorded in concert at the Academy Of Music in Lou's hometown of New York City. Rock and Roll Animal features some more muscular, mainstream versions of many of Lou's Velvet Underground classics...Sweet Jane, Rock n Roll, Heroin and White Light/White Heat. Guitarist Steve Hunter composed and performed a striking instrumental intro to Sweet Jane that leads off the album. We heard it as we put the needle down on Side 1 this time.
All Postings    Add Comment


LISTENER COMMENTS


All Postings    Add Comment

Advisory Board Login

Login to access chat and Drive Contests
Not a member? Sign up here.

Email Address:  
 
OR
 
Login via
Saturday, Nov 1, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 2, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
Featuring the 60s and 70s (3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
Abby Mager of Chicago (1hrs)
9:00pm
The Classics
The Top Frontmen in Rock (2hrs)
Monday, Nov 3, 2014
7:00am
The Drive A to Z
Tuesday, Nov 4, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Thursday, Nov 6, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Friday, Nov 7, 2014
12:00am
The Drive A to Z
Saturday, Nov 8, 2014
11:00pm
The Deep End
Sunday, Nov 9, 2014
7:00am
Rock 'n Roll Roots
(3hrs)
8:00pm
Sunday Night Star
(1hrs)